Saturday, November 18, 2006

house republicans elect boehner minority leader

Yesterday, House Republicans voted to instate Rep. John Boehner of Ohio to the position of minority leader. Boehner took over as majority leader earlier this year after Tom DeLay's resignation. With the Democrats now in control, Republicans elected to keep their once interim leader by a vote of 168-27. One vote was cast for North Texas Rep. Joe Barton, who previously withdrew from the race.

Shortly afterward, Rep. Roy Blunt, R-Missouri, won a 137-57 vote to keep his post as whip, which will be the No. 2 GOP job when Republicans become the minority party in January. Blunt is currently the No. 3 House Republican; he defeated Arizona conservative Rep. John Shadegg despite sentiment for fresh leadership faces and concerns that Republicans had strayed from their conservative principles.

Capitol Annex has information on Texas Republicans that were elected to the leadership.

No comments: