Monday, August 21, 2006

Join the Fight Against the Fast Tracking of Coal Burning Power Plants

Several weeks ago Mayor Laura Miller of Dallas called on cities across the metroplex to join her in opposing Gov. Perry's fast tracking of seventeen new coal burning power plants. In today’s Dallas Morning News Mayor Miller and the TXU CEO make their cases. So far, fifteen Metroplex communities have joined Mayor Miller’s efforts.
Arlington, Cedar Hill, Coppell, Dallas, DeSoto, Duncanville, Fort Worth, Frisco, Houston, Irving, Lancaster, McKinney, Plano, Rockwall, Wylie

The list includes nearly every major North Texas community except areas north of Dallas: Flower Mound, Denton, and Lewisville.

The Flower Mound Town Council meets tonight (8/21). Residents can submit a written comment asking their elected officials to join with Laura Miller and the communities fighting for cleaner air. If you can’t do it today, go to and click the Agenda Item Comments on the left hand side and enter "public comment."

1 comment:

Bradley Bowen said...

Mayor Jody Smith of Flower Mound had a phone conversation with Mayor Laura Miller of Dallas and promised to do what she could to help implement this in Flower Mound. I think all we need to push for is a friendly reminder.